responsibilities in regard to the promotion of efficiency and economy in the management of the federal government records. The Historical Branch, located in the National Library and Archives Building, is a centre for research on the development of Canada. In addition to the selected records of the federal government, it possesses an extensive collection of private papers of individuals and societies, a map collection which is the most important of its kind in the country, and an extensive collection of paintings, drawings, prints, photographs, sound recordings and films relating to Canada. A specialized library is also at the disposal of searchers. The Records Management Branch operates a large Records Centre in Ottawa and regional centres in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver where non-current departmental records are centralized, stored and serviced. It assists departments in their records management programs. The Administration and Technical Services Branch operates the Central Microfilm Unit for the several departments of government.

Under the terms of the Laurier House Act (RSC 1952, c.163), the Public Archives is responsible for the administration of Laurier House as a museum.

Public Service Commission. Arrangements were made for civil service appointments under the first Civil Service Act of 1868 but the first Civil Service Commission was not created until 1908. This established the beginnings of the merit system which is today the cornerstone of personnel administration in the Public Service. The Act of 1918 gave the Commission authority to control recruitment, selection, appointment, classification and organization and to recommend rates of pay. The next Civil Service Act, passed in 1961, strengthened the principles of the merit system, clarified the Commission's role in other areas of personnel administration, and gave the staff associations the right to be consulted on matters about remuneration and conditions of employment.

The Public Service Employment Act (RSC 1970, c.P-32) which came into force on March 13, 1967, redefined the Commission's role as the central staffing agency and extended its authority to the Public Service, covering certain groups of employees exempt from the previous Acts. The Public Service is specified in Schedule A of the Public Service Staff Relations Act. It does not include Crown corporations, such as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation, the Canadian National Railways and Air Canada. The new Act also reaffirms the merit principle, at the same time permitting delegation of the Commission's authority, although not its responsibility to Parliament. Under the Act, the Commission is relieved of responsibility for recommending rates of pay and conditions of service to the government, for classification, and for consultation with staff associations on matters that are now the subject of collective bargaining.

On November 9, 1972, the Commission was assigned the duty, by Order in Council PC 1972 - 2569, of investigating cases of alleged discrimination on grounds of sex, race, national origin, colour or religion with respect to the application and operation of the Public Service Employment Act, and an Investigation Branch has been established for this purpose.

The Public Service Commission reports directly to Parliament. The Secretary of State has traditionally been the Minister who presents the Commission's report to the House of Commons.

Public Service Staff Relations Board. Established in 1967 by the Public Service Staff Relations Act (SC 1967, c.72), the Board is an independent body which is responsible for determining bargaining units, certifying bargaining agents, dealing with complaints of unfair practices and generally overseeing the administration of the legislation providing for collective bargaining in the Public Service of Canada. The Board consists of a full-time chairman and vice-chairman who hold office for a period of ten years and up to eight part-time members, equally representative of the interests of employees and the interests of the employer, who hold office for seven years. Under the Act, the Public Service Staff Relations Board reports to Parliament, through such Minister of the Crown, other than a member of the Treasury Board, as may be designated by the Governor in Council. At present the Board reports through the President of the Privy Council.

Queen Elizabeth II Canadian Research Fund. The Queen Elizabeth II Canadian Research Fund Act (SC 1959, c.33) established the Fund of \$1 million to be administered by a board of trustees to aid in research on the diseases of children. The Prime Minister reports to Parliament on the operations of the Fund.

Restrictive Trade Practices Commission. The Restrictive Trade Practices Commission, domiciled in the Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, is responsible under the Combines Investigation Act (RSC 1970, c.C-23) for appraising evidence submitted to it by the Director of Investigation and Research and the parties under investigation, holding hearings and making reports to the Minister.

Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission. Established by the Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission Act (SC 1964/65, c.19), the Commission consists of six members, three appointed by the Government of Canada and three by the Government of the United States to administer the Roosevelt Campobello International Park, at Campobello, NB. The Canadian section of the Commission reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Royal Canadian Mint. The Royal Canadian Mint has been in operation since 1908. It was first established as a branch of the Royal Mint under the (Imperial) Coinage Act of 1870, and opened on January 2, 1908. On December 1, 1931, it became the Royal Canadian Mint and operated as a branch of the Department of

896